Dallas is the host city of the State Fair of Texas and every year it is celebrated in a big way. You obviously want to go! You and your friends get ready to attend the last weekend of this great event and to get there, you pile into the car; They can almost taste the snacks you plan to take for the trip and talk about everything they want to do once they get there.
Approaching Fair Park in South Dallas, they catch a glimpse of the Texas Star Ferris wheel in the distance. The traffic advances a few centimeters, and immediately forces you to brake; but the person behind you doesn’t notice and doesn’t brake. You hold tight to the wheel as you feel your car being hit from behind. The shock is strong and your neck is injured.
Steps to Take After a Car Accident
So what should you do? What should you say? Who can you call? Will you need a car accident lawyer in Texas? Do not worry! After these events it is difficult to think clearly and know at the moment what you have to do. Therefore, here we leave you the 5 steps to follow after suffering a car accident in Texas, so that you are not taken by surprise.
Step 1: Immediately Stop the Car and Treat the Injured
The first thing you should do is stop the car. It is the Law in Texas that in any car accident involving injury, property damage, or death, you must stop the vehicle immediately at, or as close as possible to, the scene of the accident, and remain there until you exchange information with the other driver.
In the same way, it is important to help and provide care to injured people; they may require preparation for transfer or transportation to a hospital or clinic, therefore, if someone needs medical treatment, the first thing to do is call 911 so that they can be attended by a medical expert.
Step 2: Move the Cars Involved in the Accident
Look at the cars involved in the crash. Can they be moved safely? If so, move them away from the flow of highway traffic. If they can’t be moved, the Texas Department of Transportation recommends protecting the accident scene by raising car canopies, or setting up a perimeter by setting off flares.
Step 3: Exchange of Data Between Those Affected
Texas law says that you and the other driver are required to share the following information:
- Names and addresses
- Both drivers’ car registration numbers (license plates)
- The name of the insurers
- Driver’s licenses (if requested and still valid)
Step 4: Is It Necessary to Call the Police?
Only call the police if:
- There are injured victims.
- Damage is estimated at $1,000 or more.
- You suspect the other driver is intoxicated.
- A driver is not insured.
- A driver tries to escape from the scene of the accident.
If the police are not called, and the accident results in injury, death, or one thousand dollars or more in property damage, you must file an accident report with the Texas Department of Transportation within 10 days after the accident.
Step 5: Contact Your Insurer
It is important to report your accident to your insurance company, however, you are not required to automatically accept their estimates or appraisals.
Drivers in Texas must have proof of financial responsibility for their vehicles. This is usually accomplished with auto liability insurance. This type of insurance is mandatory for all vehicles that have a motor (including motorized bicycles) and must cover a minimum amount for possible material damage. Likewise, this insurance contemplates physical damage to other people.
The minimum limits in Texas are called 30/60/25 coverage. This insurance covers $30,000 per injured person (up to $6,000 per accident), and $25,000 for property damage per accident. In some cases, coverage is greater than this.
Remember: To make agreements with your insurance company, you must understand what your rights are, the claims you can make, and the kind of damages you can claim for your injuries after a car accident in Texas. Therefore, you need to know in detail how much your case is financially worth.
Consult our Texas car accident lawyers at Trujillo Sanchez. We will help you understand the laws surrounding your accident, as well as the financial compensation you deserve for it. Never make a statement before an insurance adjuster without first consulting us in order to avoid misunderstandings.